Skip To Main Content

Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Joy Holeman, 4th grade teacher at Fair Street International Academy and this year's District Teacher of the Year!

Each year we recognize the amazing people in our schools by selecting a Teacher of the Year.   Each school selects their individual teacher of the year and from that group one teacher is selected to represent Gainesville City School as the District Teacher of the year. The winning district recipient receives $10,000 from the Doug & Kay Ivester Foundation. What an honor it is to be selected by colleagues, so please join me in congratulating this year's recipients:

  • Centennial - Megan Izaguirre
  • Enota - Amy Anderson
  • Fair Street - Joy Holeman
  • Gainesville Exploration Academy - Rose Moon
  • Mundy Mill - Rob Herrin
  • New Holland - Marie Phillips
  • Gainesville Middle East - Jeremy Ingram
  • Gainesville Middle West - Aisha Simmons-Webb
  • Gainesville High - Larry Miller

After committee interviews and review, we were able to announce this year's Teacher of the Year this morning.  Please join me in congratulating the GCSS Teacher of the Year, Mrs. JOY HOLEMAN, 4th grade teacher at Fair Street International Academy!