Skip To Main Content

Health Services

The Health Services program for Gainesville City Schools employs a team of school nurses and a clinic assistant that helps provide medical needs to our students. We are here to promote health and safety that contributes to students' well being and academic success. We work closely with school staff, coaches, administrators, counselors and social workers to make sure each student has every opportunity to achieve their academic goals throughout their educational career.  Students are able to thrive and be successful when they are present at school and healthy.

Each school is staffed with a licensed nurse who is certified in CPR and automated defibrillation devices. 

School Nurse Duties

  • Health education for staff, students and parents.
  • Evaluates illnesses and injuries and provides emergency care when needed.
  • Administration of prescription medications.
  • Administration of emergency medications.
  • Assist with health screenings for vision, hearing, dental and scoliosis.
  • Serves as a liaison between school personnel, family, community, and health care providers.
  • Provides specialized treatments for the students based on each individual's needs as ordered by their healthcare provider. 
  • Provides case management services.
  • Maintains current immunization records on all students. 
  • Conducts staff CPR classes. 
  • Attend IEP and 504 meetings when needed. 
  • Trains staff in Stop the Bleed for bleeding emergencies that may occur at school.
  • Trains staff on how to administer emergency medications to students when needed.  
  • Provides care for medically fragile students. 

Is my child too sick to attend school? 

Immunization Requirements for School

Georgia law requires that all students attending school must have an updated immunization form (#3231) on file at their school. If you do not have your child immunized based upon your religious beliefs, you must provide a signed and notarized affidavit stating this reason. You may access the link below to see the Immunization Requirements for Georgia Child Care and School Attendance. 

7th grade Immunization Requirements:
All children born on or after January 1, 2002 who are attending seventh grade, and children who are new entrants into a Georgia school in grades eight through twelve, must have received one dose of Tdap vaccine and one dose of meningococcal conjugate vaccine to fulfill immunization requirements.

11th Grade Immunization Requirements:
All students entering or transferring into 11th grade will need proof of a meningococcal booster shot (MCV4), unless their fist dose was received on or after their 16th birthday.

General Health Forms

Health Services Team

Health Services Manager  
Dawn Wales BSN, RN dawn.wales@gcssk12.net


Centennial Arts Academy

 

Sandy Moore LPN

sandy.moore@gcssk12.net


Enota Multiple Intelligences Academy

 
Karlie Grizzle-Jones LPN karlie.grizzle-jones@gcssk12.net


Fair Street International Academy

 
Shannon Grizzle RN shannon.grizzle@gcssk12.net


New Holland Leadership Academy

 
Lynn Tate LPN lynn.tate@gcssk12.net


Gainesville Exploration Academy

 
Amanda Anderson RN amanda.anderson@gcssk12.net


Mundy Mill Arts Academy

 
Lanie Parks LPN lanie.parks@gcssk12.net


Gainesville Middle School East Campus

 
Lucia Carron BSN, RN

lucia.carron@gcssk12.net


Gainesville Middle School West Campus

 
Teri Holmly RN teri.holmly@gcssk12.net


Gainesville High School

 
Tiffany Lankford BSN, RN tiffany.lankford@gcssk12.net
Theresa Hawks LPN

theresa.hawks@gcssk12.net

Beth Kinsey -  Clinic Assistant beth.kinsey@gcssk12.net


Float Nurse

 
Sue Stewart LPN sue.stewart@gcssk12.net